Can I delete old categories?

Can I delete old categories?

If you have categories that you are no longer using, you can delete them if you want to. 

First, have a look in your WordPress dashboard to find out if you have any categories with no posts assigned to them. To do this, hover over Posts in the left panel and then select Categories from the submenu. 

You will see a page that's similar to the screenshot below. 

Click the "count" button to order by the number of posts in each category. Any with 0 will be at the top of the list. 

WordPress automatically creates a page for each category, and it might be worthwhile setting up a 301 redirect for the categories that you delete, if you have a very similar category. For example, if you are deleting the categories "pizza" and "pasta" but you have a category called "Italian", it would make sense to redirect those. 

But if you are deleting a category called "Africa" because you have no posts about Africa, it's best practice to not redirect that page. A 410 "content deleted" page will appear -- which is exactly the right thing to happen. 

If you do set up a redirect and later decide to add the same category back, it's important to remember to remove the redirect!

We can set up these redirects at a server level for you. As you remove categories, make a list the names of each category you delete, then send it to support@performancefoundry.com so we can set up the redirects for you.

    • Related Articles

    • Old files on old host

      A Performance Foundry client recently received an email from their old host, saying that their website files were infected by malware. This isn't great, but if you receive a similar email, the malware shouldn't affect your live site if you are now on ...
    • Delete extra admin accounts

      One of our common security recommendations is to limit the number of "administrator" users your site has. Here are some step-by-step instructions about how to remove extra admin accounts. 1. Start by logging into your WordPress dashboard as an ...
    • Can I cancel my old host?

      After a site is fully migrated to Performance Foundry, we are usually asked this question: Should I cancel my old host? The answer is YES, if the old host was only used to host the site you migrated. However, some hosts offer other services like ...
    • When and how to use redirects

      When a post or a page on your site changes its URL, you need to create a redirect rule from the Old URL to the New URL so that users can get to the content. Never use a WordPress plugin to redirect Redirecting with a plugin adds about 200% to the ...
    • Editing your hosts file on Windows to preview your site

      From time to time, we might ask you to set up virtual hosts on your machine, so you can see a development site before the world can.  We 'trick' your browser into seeing the new site, while the rest of the world is still looking at the old one! It ...